The Japanese Cruiser Yahagi

  • Code: 16036
  • Weight: 0.5 kg
  • Availability: unavailable
  • Catalog price: €29.95
  • Discount: -€14.97 (50 %)
  • Price: €14.98
  • szt.
  • Tell a friend
| more
Mariusz Motyka
The Light Cruiser Yahagi
ISBN 978-83-64596-66-7
92 pages
118 renders
18 anaglyphs 3D
Double sheet A2 with the plans

Yahagi, the second Japanese warship of that name, was the third of the four Agano-class vessels (the other three being Agano, Noshiro and Sakawa). Construction of the Agano-class cruisers was approved by the Japanese parliament (Diet) in March 1939 under the Fourth Naval Armaments Enhancement Program (Dai-Yon-Ji Kaigun Gunbi Jūjitsu Keikaku), also known as “Four-in-Circle” Program (Maru Yon Keikaku), or simply Maru 4. Under the terms of the program, the four light cruisers (kei jun’yōkan), also referred to as type B cruisers (otsu-gata jun’yōkan, or simply otsu jun) and officially classed as second-class cruisers (ni-tō jun’yōkan), were to fulfill the role of destroyer squadron flagships. At that time destroyer squadrons (DesRon), called literarily torpedo squadrons (suirai sentai), consisted of four four-ship destroyer divisions (DesDiv, or kuchiku-tai).